The National Association of State TANF Administrators (NASTA) is an affiliate of the American Public Human Services Association. NASTA members are public administrators and other officials who are committed to developing, implementing, and evaluating Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) and related economic support programs that are responsive and accountable to the needs of the communities and the people they serve.


The mission of NASTA is to promote the exchange of experience and knowledge among agencies at the federal, state, and local government levels administering TANF by providing expert support and consultation on TANF and other human service program issues.


Bipartisan and membership driven, NASTA provides national leadership for the development of sound policy, successful and innovative practices, and critical capacity building to improve agency performance and consumer outcomes. NASTA promotes informed decision making through the distribution of best practices and research to enhance the professional development of both its members and the federal policy making process. To facilitate its work, NASTA maintains an active listserv, hosts webinars and all member calls, and conducts an annual business meeting.


To learn about membership benefits in APHSA and NASTA, click here


NASTA Executive Committee (as of June 2017)


NASTA is governed by a 17-member executive committee. Ten members are elected to represent the regions designated by the Administration for Children and Families (ACF). Also elected are the chair, vice chair, secretary, two at-large members, and one local representative. One at-large seat is reserved for the outgoing chair. (Denotes when service began.)


Chair: Todd Bland, Deputy Director, Welfare to Work Division, California Department of Social Services (September 2015)
Email: todd.bland@dss.ca.gov
Phone: (916) 657-3546

Vice Chair: Katie Griego, Director, Division of Employment & Benefits, Colorado Office of Economic Security (September 2015)
Email: katie.griego@state.co.us

Phone: (303) 866-2882 


Secretary: Babs Roberts, Director, Community Services Division, Washington Department of Social and Human Services (September 2015)

Email: roberba@dshs.wa.gov

Phone: (360) 725-4888



Regional Representatives

Region I: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont

John Stella, Director of Cash Policy/TANF, Department of Transitional Assistance,

Massachusetts Department of Health & Human Services
Email: john.stella@state.ma.us

Phone: (617) 348-8403


Region II: New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

Jeff Gaskell, Assistant Deputy Commissioner, Employment and Income Support Programs, New York Office of Temporary and Disability Assistance (June 2017)

Email: Jeff.Gaskell@otda.ny.gov

Phone: (518) 474-9222


Region III: Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia

Anthea Seymour, Administrator, Economic Security Administration, District of Columbia

Department of Human Services (October 2016) 

Email: anthea.seymour@dc.gov

Phone: (202) 698-3913


Region IV: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee

Tammy James, Director, Division of Employment Services, Office of Economic Services, South Carolina

Department of Social Services (September 2015)

Email: tamara.james@dss.sc.gov

Phone: (803) 898-1097


Region V: Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin

Dale Shaw, Cash Assistance Senior Policy Analyst – FOA, Michigan Department of Health & Human Services (June 2016) 

Email: ShawD2@michigan.gov

Phone: (517) 342-0033


Region VI: Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas

Phil Harris, Assistant Director, TANF Division, Arkansas Department of Workforce Services

Email: phil.harris@arkansas.gov

Phone: (501) 683-5363


Region VII: Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska

Jennifer Heimericks, Temporary Assistance Manager, Income Maintenance, Family Support Division, Missouri Department of Social Services (September 2015)
Email: Jennifer.k.heimericks@dss.mo.gov
Phone: (573) 522-2390


Region VIII: Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming

Karla Aguirre, Director, Workforce Development Division, Utah

Department of Workforce Services (September 2015)
Email: kaguirre@utah.gov
Phone: (801) 526-9210

Region IX: Arizona, California, Guam, Hawaii, Nevada

Scott Nakasone, Acting Administrator, Benefits, Employment, & Support Services Division, Hawaii

Department of Health and Human Services (September 2015)
Email: snakasone2@dhs.hawaii.gov
Phone: (808) 586-5230


Region X: Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington

Belit Burke, Self Sufficiency Design Administrator, Oregon

Department of Human Services (September 2015)

Email: Belit.burke@state.or.us
Phone: (503) 947-5389


At-Large Representatives


At-Large #1: Ericka Rupp, TANF Program Manager, Division of Welfare, Idaho Department of Health and Welfare (April 2015)

Email: ruppe@dhw.idaho.gov
Phone: (208) 334-5641


At-Large #2: Paulette Bushers, TANF Program Manager, Adult & Family Services, Oklahoma Department of Human Services (September 2015)

Email: paulette.bushers@okdhs.org

Phone: (580) 208-3454


County Representative

County: Kate Probert, MFIP/DWP/SNAP Employment Services Division Manager, Ramsey

County Workforce Solutions (January 2017)
Email: kate.probert@co.ramsey.mn.us
Phone: (651) 266-4706


To learn about membership benefits in APHSA and NASTA, click here

Join APHSA now!

Subscribe to Policy & Practice

Subscribe to this week in Washington